Coodabeen Champions

The Coodabeen Champions


Buy Now:
Categories: ,
ISBN: 9781925927320
Publish Date: 1/10/20
Page Count: 224

40 Footy Seasons

The long-awaited new book from the Coodabeen Champions with stories and photos from over four decades of truly unique Australian entertainment featuring transcripts and memorabilia of memorable moments in Australian Rules Football through the years, all told in the humorous style the Coodabeens are known and loved for.

Share a trip down memory lane with The Coodabeen Champions in this celebration of 40 years of broadcasting with stories and photos from a truly unique Australian entertainment institution.

Follow the much-loved show from its creation in 1981 and see the evolution from community radio to national success on the ABC. From performing at pubs, clubs and concert halls to the story behind their appearance at the MCG on Grand Final Day, discover the Coodabeen’s songs, sayings and ‘talkback’ characters which have become part of Australian language and culture.

Featuring highlights from their favourite segments including Covey’s Quiz, Guru Bob, Greg’s songs, bush footy stories, Torch’s Footy Talkback and Sam the Sub. Coodabeen Champions is the best thing available to lift spirits, lighten the mood, raise a chuckle and generally make you feel better – just as their radio show has done.

About the author:

The Coodabeen Champions are the legendary presenters of the ever-popular Australian Rules Football show on ABC radio. The members are are Jeff Richardson, Simon Whelan, Greg Champion, Ian Cover, Billy Baxter, ‘Torch’ McGee and Andy Bellairs. Formed in 1981 on 3RRR, The Coodabeen Champions are now broadcast on 774 ABC Melbourne, ABC Victoria, ABC Tasmania and heard around the world on the ABC Listen App.